Welcome to the Northern Virginia Community College Website

Accessibility Navigation:

About Alexandria

In 1965, Northern Virginia Technical College opened for classes with 761 students in the Carlyn Springs Road warehouse, located in Bailey's Crossroads. To accommodate an ever-growing student body, the college purchased 78 acres in Annandale in 1966 to build the first campus site. The following year saw the opening of the new building on the Annandale Campus and the purchase of three more campus sites in Sterling, Manassas and Woodbridge. In 1969, the College purchased 22.5 acres in Alexandria for $450,000.

Originally known as the Eastern Campus, the Alexandria Campus began construction of the Bisdorf Building in 1971. In the summer of 1973, classes were moved from the original Bailey's Crossroads warehouse to the Alexandria Campus. By the fall quarter, more than 6,000 students were registered for classes.

Today, the Alexandria Campus has the second-highest enrollment at the College and boasts four buildings, including the Rachel M. Schlesinger Concert Hall and Arts Center, which opened in the fall of 2001. The campus offers more than 70 programs and degrees, including nine foreign languages and an ESL program.

Provost Welcome

Photo of Dr. Haggray Welcome to NOVA’s Alexandria Campus. We invite you to become a part of our dynamic and diverse community of learners. We are a student-centered campus that recognizes the unique opportunity we have to inspire, teach and support you, as you strive to achieve your educational goals. Whether you choose to pursue an associate degree and transfer to a four-year college or university, seek career training leading to a certificate and employment, or engage in lifelong learning opportunities, we are here to guide you.

Our priority is your success in accomplishing your educational goals. We encourage you to take full advantage of the excellent teaching and learning opportunities at the Alexandria Campus provided by our outstanding faculty and staff. Whether you are a high school student, first time college student, returning student, veteran, someone who is seeking a new career, or you do not know where to begin, we are here to help you. We recognize that many students have family and work obligations that require their time and effort, so we offer an array of degree and certificate programs in formats that offer flexible schedules, while maintaining academic rigor.

As the needs of our students, employers and other stakeholders change, we will continue to provide access to relevant, quality education and workforce training that empowers individuals to achieve their goals and improve the quality of life for all communities we serve.

Dr. M. Annette Haggray

Forum Council

The Forum Council is an elected advisory board that advocates and makes recommendations to the Provost on behalf of faculty, staff, and students. Membership represents the Alexandria Campus community and is comprised of faculty, staff, and students. Select faculty and staff members of the Council also represent the Alexandria Campus in the College Senate. 

The purpose of the Forum Council is to provide a medium for the campus community to express their ideas and concerns. After discussion, the Council brings items to the Provost with recommendations when needed. The Council meets approximately eight times during the academic year. 

Meetings are open to anyone who wishes to attend and are usually held in the Provost Conference Room from 1:00 p.m. to 2:30 p.m on the third Friday of each month. A list of Forum Council members appears below. Minutes are also posted below. 

Your opinion counts! We would like to make the Alexandria Campus a better place to work, to teach, and to study. Please speak with a Forum Council member to share your ideas, comments and/or concerns. We want to hear from you.

Alexandria Forum Council Members & Minutes

2016-2017 Members

  • Janet Giannotti/TF, Chair
  • Nicole Cintas/TF
  • Coreda Clark/CS
  • Momina DiBlasio/Student
  • Margaret Emblom-Callahan/TF
  • Matthew Fox/CS
  • Alka Gandhi/TF
  • Nathaniel Gorems/Student
  • M. Annette Haggray/Provost
  • Kelly Hebron/TF
  • Katie Hoskins/PF
  • Glenn Johnson/Student
  • Twyla Jones/PF
  • Jack Lechelt/TF
  • Kevin J. Pace/TF (Adjunct)
  • Kirsten Riddick/CS
  • Niandra Sinclair/Student
  • John Sound/TF
  • Ruth Takushi/TF
  • Matthew Todd/AF
  • Frances Villagran-Glover/AF